We offer MLC certification to ensure that all seafarers, regardless of their nationality and the flag of the ships they work on, can work and live under decent conditions.

Learn more about Maritime Labour Convention, through our MLC 2006 Course

About convention

The Maritime Labour Convention 2006 (MLC 2006) is an international labour convention, adopted by the International Labour Organization (ILO). The convention entered into force on 20 August 2013.

The MLC 2006 applies to all ships, whether publicly or privately owned, engaged in commercial activities. The MLC 2006 does not apply to:

  • ships that navigate exclusively in inland waters or waters within, or closely adjacent to sheltered waters or areas where port regulations apply;
  • ships engaged in fishing in similar pursuits and ships of traditional build such as dhows and junks;
  • warships or naval auxiliaries.

The MLC 2006 applies to all seafarers on all ships covered by the MLC 2006. That’s why this new convention is of great importance and that’s why it is called “the 4th pillar” in the international maritime regulations. The other three “pillars” are SOLAS, MARPOL and STCW.

Certification applies to ships of:
(a) 500 GT or over, engaged in international voyages; and  
(b) 500 GT or over, flying the flag of a Member and operating from a port, or between ports, in another country.
“international voyage” means a voyage from a country to a port outside such a country.


Ships to be inspected and certified are all commercially operating ships of 500 gross tonnages or more that fly under the flag of any of the Countries that have ratified the MLC 2006, if they operate on international voyages. They are required to carry, among other things, two specific documents: the Maritime Labour Certificate (MLC) and the Declaration of Maritime Labour Compliance (DMLC).

Ships flying under the flag of countries that have not ratified the MLC 2006 are also subject to inspection as regards working and living conditions of seafarers, when those ships enter in port of countries where the MLC 2006 is in force.

Statutory Certification

Accredited E Learning



elearning teiste for webcooperation

esyd eoppep 15 12073 IAS Mark Mgmt Sys Cert Bdy