We are at the forefront of the ISPS Code developments and offer statutory certifications to ensure and maintain security compliance.

Learn more about ISPS Code, through our ISPS for Company and Ship Security Officer

International Ship and Port Facility Security Code

The International Maritime Organization (IMO) created a working group to develop an appropriate security code for the maritime industry. In December 2002, the IMO member governments formally adopted various security related amendments to the SOLAS convention of 1974, including the two-part ISPS Code. The ISPS Code entered into force on 1st July 2004, for both ships and port facilities.

The ISPS Code applies to ships and ports of signatory nations to the SOLAS Convention as well as ships that call upon ports of contracting nations:

  • Ships engaged on international voyages including:
    Passenger ships, including high-speed passenger craft
    Cargo ships, including high-speed craft, of 500 GT and upwards
    Mobile offshore drilling units
  • Port facilities serving such ships engaged on international voyages.

LHR carries out on board security audits and certification of ships, according to the requirements of ISPS Code and our Class Society’s requirements.


The ISPS certification procedure consists of the following steps:

  • Ship Security Assessment (SSA) and Ship Security Plan (SSP) submitted to us for review and approval
  • interim verification on board and issue of an interim International Ship Security Certificate (ISSC) valid six months
  • initial verification on board, within interim expiring date, and issue of the full term ISSC – International Ship Security Certificate, valid for 5 years
  • intermediate verification during 3rd year of the certification period
  • ISSC renewal required after 5 years.

Statutory Certification

Accredited E Learning



elearning teiste for webcooperation

esyd eoppep 15 12073 IAS Mark Mgmt Sys Cert Bdy